About Us

The Community Foundation is a public foundation that serves the community of Southwestern Alberta.

Who We Are

It’s right there in our name: community. Thanks to a group of community-minded individuals, the Community Foundation of Lethbridge and Southwestern Alberta has been supporting the community for over five decades. Since 1966, we have built our endowment funds to more than $33 million, with the intent to support our community forever. Our grants come from these funds and support the charities that are working hard to make our community a great place to live. How do we do this? We help donors connect with causes that are close to their heart. Thanks to their generosity, we have funded over $18 million in grants throughout our region.

The Community Foundation is a registered Canadian charity and the ninth-oldest of Canada’s 202 community foundations. We manage charitable gifts from donors, whose generosity allows us to create permanent, income-earning endowment funds. The income generated by these funds is distributed to the charities our donors wish to support. In doing so, the Community Foundation helps charitable organizations succeed in building the community of Southwestern Alberta.

By supporting the Community Foundation, your gift supports the community.

The Community Foundation serves Southern Alberta from Vulcan County south to the Canada-U.S. border, and from the M.D. of Taber west to the Alberta-B.C. border. To find the community foundation closest to you, click here.

Our Vision: Helping Southwestern Alberta communities thrive through generosity.

Our Mission: To inspire charitable giving and steward funds to help build a vibrant Southwestern Alberta.

In the News

Community Foundation Celebrates 50 Years!

CTV Lethbridge’s Community Foundation Feature

Board Members

Tracy McNab



The Honourable Rick Casson

Vice President

Picture Butte

Christy Audet

Second Vice-President

Milk River

Devin Vornbrock



Ryan Kasko


Arlene Parkinson


Kayla Plausteiner


Tania Stilson


Gen Hofman


Dory Rossiter


Carmelle Steel


Anne Stevick

Pincher Creek

John Wilson


Charleen Davidson

Executive Director


Caitlin Gajdostik

Grants Coordinator


Jordan Karst

Marketing and Public Relations Coordinator


Kelly Vaselenak

Administrative Assistant


Stay Connected with Us.

Subscribe to electronic communication from the Community Foundation of Lethbridge and Southwestern Alberta.